# All-Clad vs Calphalon: stainless and nonstick compared

Source: https://braiseandsear.com/blog/all-clad-vs-calphalon
Published: 2026-10-09
Publisher: Braise & Sear

**Short answer:** For clad stainless, All-Clad D3 is the safer long-term buy: US-made tri-ply rated to 600°F, at about twice the price of Calphalon Premier stainless. Calphalon Premier is also fully clad tri-ply and adds a space-saving, nesting design. For nonstick, the two are closer: All-Clad HA1 and Calphalon Premier hard-anodized sets both use PTFE coatings that wear out in time, so buy on price, pieces and features rather than brand.

This page is for shoppers weighing All-Clad against Calphalon, two brands that both sell clad stainless and hard-anodized nonstick. Comparing the brands as a whole hides the real differences, so this page goes line by line: All-Clad D3 against Calphalon Premier stainless, then All-Clad HA1 against Calphalon Premier hard-anodized nonstick. Specs come from the product listings, and oven limits only where the makers publish them.

## Clad stainless: All-Clad D3 vs Calphalon Premier

Both are fully clad, three-layer stainless with an aluminum core, per their listings. That means the aluminum runs up the sides, not just in a disc on the base, so heat spreads evenly across the pan and up the walls. See [what is clad cookware](https://braiseandsear.com/blog/what-is-clad-cookware) for why that matters.

All-Clad D3 is made in the USA with global components, per the listing, has a highly polished finish and a flared, drip-free rim, and All-Clad rates it to 600°F in the oven. Calphalon Premier stainless is built around a nesting design: the listing says the pieces stack to save cabinet space, and its long handles stay cool on the stovetop. The Calphalon listing does not state where it is made or an oven limit, so check the maker's care page before using it in a hot oven.

|  | All-Clad D3 10-piece | Calphalon Premier Stainless 10-piece |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Listed price | $799.95 | $385.69 |
| Construction | Fully bonded tri-ply, aluminum core | Fully clad 3-layer, heavy-gauge aluminum core |
| Fry pans | 8 and 10 inch | 8 and 10 inch |
| Saucepans | 2 and 3 qt with lids | 2.5 and 3.5 qt with covers |
| Saute pan | 3 qt with lid | 3 qt with cover |
| Stockpot | 8 qt with lid | 6 qt with cover |
| Storage | Standard shapes | Stackable, nesting design |
| Oven | Up to 600°F, broiler safe | Not stated in listing |

Listed facts for the stainless sets

[Compare stainless cookware sets](https://braiseandsear.com/best/best-stainless-steel-cookware-set)

## Hard-anodized nonstick: All-Clad HA1 vs Calphalon Premier

Both sets pair a hard-anodized aluminum body with a PTFE nonstick interior. All-Clad's HA1 listing describes heavy gauge aluminum with a stainless steel base, which is what makes it work on induction, plus double-riveted stainless handles and tempered glass lids. Calphalon's Premier hard-anodized listing describes MineralShield nonstick, a three-layer interior it calls metal utensil safe, dishwasher-safe pieces and tempered glass lids.

Oven limits differ. All-Clad rates HA1 pans to 500°F, not under the broiler on its care page, and its glass lids to 350°F. Calphalon rates its glass lids to 450°F. Any nonstick coating wears with use, so plan on replacing nonstick pans at some point no matter the brand. See [when to replace nonstick pans](https://braiseandsear.com/blog/when-to-replace-nonstick-pans).

|  | All-Clad HA1 10-piece | Calphalon Premier Hard-Anodized 11-piece |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Listed price | $380.01 | $249.99 |
| Coating | PTFE nonstick | MineralShield nonstick, contains PTFE |
| Utensils | Silicone, nylon or wood recommended | Metal utensil safe |
| Induction | Yes, stainless steel base | Not stated in listing |
| Lids | Tempered glass | Tempered glass |
| Dishwasher | Dishwasher safe | Dishwasher safe |
| Made in | China, designed in Pennsylvania | Not stated in listing |

Listed facts for the nonstick sets

[Compare nonstick cookware sets](https://braiseandsear.com/best/best-nonstick-cookware-set)

## Price, value and what you actually get

On stainless, the listed All-Clad D3 10-piece set costs about twice the Calphalon Premier 10-piece. For that you get US manufacture, a confirmed 600°F oven rating, a larger 8 quart stockpot and a brand whose bonded stainless has a long track record. Calphalon gives you fully clad construction at a much lower price and saves cabinet space.

On nonstick, the gap is smaller and the logic changes. Because coatings wear out, many cooks prefer to spend less on nonstick and more on stainless that lasts. The Calphalon set is cheaper and adds a piece; the HA1 set adds induction compatibility and a higher confirmed oven rating for the pans.

## Care and cooking differences

If you want to check how a lid or handle limits oven use, try the [oven temperature checker](https://braiseandsear.com/tools/oven-temperature-limit).

- **Stainless:** both brands need preheating and enough fat to release food. See [how to cook with stainless steel pans](https://braiseandsear.com/blog/how-to-cook-with-stainless-steel-pans).
- **Hand wash vs dishwasher:** All-Clad D3 is listed as hand wash only. Both nonstick sets are listed as dishwasher safe, though hand washing is gentler on any coating.
- **Utensils:** All-Clad recommends silicone, nylon or wooden tools on HA1. Calphalon lists its Premier nonstick as metal utensil safe.
- **Heat on nonstick:** use low to medium heat and never preheat an empty nonstick pan on high, whichever brand you buy.

## Which brand should you buy

Many kitchens do best with a stainless set plus one or two nonstick skillets for eggs. See [stainless steel vs nonstick](https://braiseandsear.com/blog/stainless-steel-vs-nonstick) and the HA1 line in more detail in [All-Clad HA1 vs NS Pro](https://braiseandsear.com/blog/all-clad-ha1-vs-ns-pro).

- **All-Clad D3** if you want stainless to last decades, cook on induction or in a hot oven, and the budget allows.
- **Calphalon Premier stainless** if you want fully clad stainless at roughly half the price and need pots that nest.
- **Calphalon Premier hard-anodized** if you want the cheaper nonstick set and like metal utensil safety.
- **All-Clad HA1** if you need nonstick on induction or want a 500°F oven rating on the pans.

[See our Calphalon picks](https://braiseandsear.com/best/best-calphalon-cookware-set)

## Frequently asked questions

**Is All-Clad better than Calphalon?** For clad stainless, All-Clad D3 has the edge in build, US manufacture and oven rating. For nonstick, the two are close, and price and features matter more than the name.

**All-Clad vs Calphalon nonstick: which lasts longer?** Both use PTFE coatings, and any coating wears with use. Gentle heat, soft utensils and hand washing help either one last longer.

**Is Calphalon Premier stainless fully clad?** Yes. The listing describes fully clad, three-layer construction with a heavy-gauge aluminum core.

**Can Calphalon glass lids go in the oven?** Calphalon rates its glass lids to 450°F. All-Clad rates its glass lids to 350°F.

## Gear guides for this topic

- https://braiseandsear.com/best/best-all-clad-cookware
- https://braiseandsear.com/best/best-calphalon-cookware-set
- https://braiseandsear.com/best/best-stainless-steel-cookware-set
- https://braiseandsear.com/best/best-nonstick-cookware-set
